10 Cloverfield Lane Review: The Unexpected Monster

10-cloverfield-lane

MAJOR SPOILERS ALERT !

What is 10 Cloverfield Lane about ? I can’t grasp anything when I watched the trailer. I even assumed 10 Cloverfield Lane will just be monsters and aliens just like the first movie. (well, I never finished the first one because I threw up during the first ten minutes. But I heard it from people who watched it)

Well, the movie is TOTALLY not what I expected. It is a suspense thriller that kept me on the edge of my seat through out, and the movie pacing made me felt like I was on a roller coaster. You think it is safe until something happens.  

cloverfield5-xlarge

The story starts by introducing our protagonist Michelle who ran away from New York city due to a fight with her significant other.There isn’t much talking for the first 15 minutes of the film, so you kinda just get ideas and what is going on from what the movie is showing you.  Michelle got into an accident, and she woke up and found out she is in a bunker with two strangers. Howard, who is the owner of the bunker, said he basically saved Michelle due to her car accident. The other guy Emmet fight his way into this bunker, because he saw alien attacking New York city.

10 Cloverfield Lane As a audience, I was so confused. Is it true that alien invaded the city? (well, most likely it is if you watched the first one) How much can you trust Howard? What exactly is going on ?

What’s great about 10 Cloverfield Lane is the small clues that make you wonder what is the truth, and you also started to realize “something is not right about this”. I think the scene that made me have goosebumps after when I rethink about the movie was the scene of the shower curtain. The audience laughed when we found out the shower curtain in Howard’s room was a rubber duck , since it makes Howard kind of cute even though he is a intense person. However,  once you find out Howard is a kidnapper that kidnap young girls to the bunker and eventually kill them, it makes you wonder how twisted is he.

maxresdefault

The small clues intrigues me, but my favorite element in this whole movie is its focus on  Michelle, our cool female protaganist that eventually break out the bunker by herself with her own plans. I think it is so awesome that there is finally a normal movie that is NOT Laura croft or superheroes, and the female character is not a damsel in distress. We need more badass female characters in movies !!!!! 🙂

10-cloverfield-lane-640x320

 

6 thoughts on “10 Cloverfield Lane Review: The Unexpected Monster

Leave a Reply

